Sunday, Dec 2, 2012
Garza County News


Post ISD Bond Proposal Passes

Brannon Re-elected

Published Nov. 6, 2012 @ 11:01 p.m.
Updated Nov. 7, 2012 @ 9:40 a.m.

The Garza County election results are tallied.  Voter turnout on election day was good, but not as good as the turnout for early voting.  All results are unofficial until canvassed in the coming weeks by the county and the school district.

Of the 2,827 registered voters in Garza County, 876 turned out for early voting and 612 voted on election day for a 52.6% turnout in the general election.  The Post Independent School District election had similar but slightly lower turnout of 49.5% of 2,670 registered voters.  Two provisional ballots may be added to the results after approval.

In the only local contested race, County Commissioner of Precinct 3 was won by incumbent Ted Brannon (R) as he defeated challenger John Valdez (D). In other local races, many candidates ran unopposed after emerging with wins in the primaries.  Additionally, in a joint election, Post ISD held an election for a $28.4 million dollar bond proposal which passed with 58.5% of the vote.

The unofficial results for the local races were reported as follows:

Post ISD Bond Election
For - 773
Against - 548

County Commissioner, Precinct 3
Ted Brannon (R) - 211
John Valdez (D) - 175

County Attorney
Preston L. Poole, Jr. (write-in) - 486

Terry L. Morgan (R) - 1328

County Tax Assessor-Collector
Nancy Wallace (R) - 1304

County Commissioner, Precinct 3
Gary McDaniel (R) - 369

Constable, Precinct No. 1
Daniel Yarbro (R) - 778

Constable, Precinct 2
Eric Cravy (R) - 488


In regional, state, and national races, the Republican candidates had strong support from Garza County voters.  The County tally for a selection of those races was as follows:

District Attorney, 106th Judicial District
Michael Munk (R) - 1244 

State Representative, District 68
Drew Springer (R) -  1267

State Senator, District 28
Robert Duncan (R) - 1231
M.J. (Smitty) Smith (L) - 140 

United States Representative, District 19
Randy Neugebauer (R) - 1287
Richard (Chip) Peterson (L) - 129

United States Senator
Ted Cruz (R) - 1208
Paul Sadler (D) - 250
John Jay Myers (L) - 28
David B. Collins (G) - 5

President and Vice-President
Mitt Romney / Paul Ryan (R) - 1262
Barack Obama / Joe Biden (D) - 276
Gary Johnson / Jim Gray (L) - 12
Jill Stein / Cheri Honkala (G) - 6


The copyright for all articles is held by the respective authors and/or The Garza Post. All rights reserved. Any publication, rewriting, or redistribution is prohibited without prior written permission.
blog comments powered by Disqus


Click for more!



Support our sponsors!