Sunday, Dec 2, 2012
Garza County News


Early Voting Turnout Lags Behind 2008 Election

Voting continues this week

Published Oct. 29, 2012 @ 12:12 p.m.

So far in the 2012 General Election voter turnout is less than the number of voters that voted early in the presidential election of 2008, according to figures kept by the Garza County District and County Clerk’s office.

One possible reason may be that the number of registered voters in the county is 2824, that’s 156 less than four years ago. 

In the first week of early voting 443 voted General Election ballots at the Garza County Courthouse.  If those figures are consistent in the second week, about 886 voters or 31% of registered would have voted early in person.  Final figures from 2008 showed that 35% voted early which included absentee voters.  The number of mail ballots sent to absentee voters this election is 73 as of Friday.

Most of those who voted the General Election ballot to elect presidential electors, members of congress, members of the legislature, and state, district, county and precinct officers, were able to also vote in the Post Independent School District’s Bond Election.  In the first week of early voting, 382 voters have cast ballots in the special election that concerns a $28,480,000 bond issue for funds to go toward capital improvements including a new high school.

The only contested local race on the General Election ballot is for the Precinct 3 County Commissioner seat.   Incumbent Ted A. Brannon (Republican) and former commissioner and challenger John Valdez (Democrat) are on the ballot for that position.

Early Voting for both elections continues through Friday, November 2, 2012 at the Garza County Courthouse.  The Early Voting polling place is open from 8:00 a.m. to 5:00 p.m., including the noon lunch hour.

On Election Day Tuesday November 6, 2012, registered voters who had not voted early can vote at their precinct polling location that corresponds with the precinct number on the voter registration card:

Precinct 1 - Presbyterian Church, 910 W. 10th St., Post

Precinct 2 - Post Community Center, 113 W. Main St., Post

Precinct 3 - Citizens Bank, 210 N. Broadway, Post

Precinct 4 - Wells Fargo Bank, 216 W. Main St., Post

Precinct 5 - Southland School, Superintendent’s Office, 190 8th Street, Southland

Precinct 6 - Lake Alan Henry Fire Station, 2699 FM 3519, Justiceburg

The polling places will be open from 7:00 a.m. – 7:00 p.m. on Election Day.

Other pertinent voter information including sample ballots can be seen on the Garza County web site,  Sample ballots are also available at the Clerk’s office at the courthouse.

The copyright for all articles is held by the respective authors and/or The Garza Post. All rights reserved. Any publication, rewriting, or redistribution is prohibited without prior written permission.
blog comments powered by Disqus


Click for more!



Support our sponsors!