Sunday, Dec 2, 2012
Garza County News

Photo by Melvena Moore

2011-12 All-District Basketball selections - (l-r) Taylor Soto, Dalton Holly, Corbin McDonald, Shirley Araiza, Skylar Jones and Haily Berry.

Post Players Placed on All-District Teams

2012 All-District 3-2A Basketball

Published March 5, 2012 @ 7:08 p.m.

Three Lady Lopes and three Antelopes are part of the 2011-2012 All-District 3-2A Basketball teams.

Seniors Corbin McDonald (1st team), Shirley Araiza (defensive team) and Skylar Jones (honorable mention) completed their high school hardwood careers with honors.  

McDonald led his team from the wing and point guard positions.  He averaged just over 12 points a game in district play.  Also, he was the season stat leader in points, field goals, 3-pointers and rebounds.  Araiza was the L-Lopes top scorer with 8.6 points a game and led the team with 7.1 rebounds per outing.  Jones contributed six points and two rebounds a game.

Second team honors went to juniors Haily Berry and Dalton Holly.  Berry averaged three steals, and seven points a game.  Holly averaged 8.5 points a game for the Lopes while shooting 41 percent form the field. 

Junior Taylor Soto received an honorable mention.

Click here to visit the "2012 Basketball Wrap-up" page.

2011-2012 All-District 3-2A Basketball Selections


MVP -- Jasmine Brainard, Sr., Lubbock Roosevelt
Offensive MVP -- Kacie Whitley, Jr., Lubbock Roosevelt
Defensive MVP -- Lauran Meeks, Sr., Colorado City
Newcomer of the Year -- Karli McCord, Fresh., Slaton

First Team
Heather Merket, Soph., Colorado City; Miranda Reyna, Sr., Colorado City; Shahala Hawkins, Sr., Denver City; Calli Stephens, Soph., Denver City; Janna Adkins, Jr., Lubbock Roosevelt; Carly Welch, Sr., Lubbock Roosevelt; Kelsey Copeland, Sr., Slaton; Shay Felton, Sr., Slaton; Alexia Talley, Soph., Slaton; Jennifer Henley, Jr., Stanton; Tara Patterson, Sr., Stanton

Second Team
Jennifer Castilaw, Sr., Coahoma; MaKenzi Kimball, Soph., Colorado City; Cheyenne Galloway, Sr., Forsan; Raegan Haggard, Soph., Forsan; Devon Newberry, Jr., Denver City; Jaci Zingerman, Jr., Denver City; Mikayla Welch, Soph., Lubbock Roosevelt; Haily Berry, Jr., Post; Taliea Maxwell, Fresh., Slaton; Kelli Pate, Fresh., Slaton

All-Defensive Team
Minnie Goodblanket, Sr., Coahoma; Megan Bullard, Sr., Colorado City; K'Lynn Pate, Sr., Denver City; Maria Ortiz, Soph., Forsan; Desiree Guiterrez, Jr., Lubbock Roosevelt; Shirley Araiza, Sr., Post; Ashlee Green, Jr., Slaton; Selah Ramsey, Sr., Stanton

Honorable Mention
Post: Skylar Jones.  Stanton: Jennifer Beasley, Sr.; Kendra Graham, Jr.; Whitney Brantley, Soph.


MVP -- Derek Gainey, Sr., Colorado City
Offensive MVP -- Clancy David, Jr., Denver City
Defensive MVP -- Nathan Koonce, Sr., Stanton
Co-Newcomers of the Year -- Keyshawn Hawkins, Soph., Denver City; Scott Smith, Jr., Stanton
Coach of the Year -- Barry Kimball, Colorado City

First Team
Mason Milligan, Soph., Denver City; Khaleed Brown, Jr., Denver City; Sir Hollis, Sr., Slaton; Tanner Walter, Sr., Slaton; Quaylon Fitts, Jr., Slaton; Tanner Ruiz, Jr., Coahoma; Patrick Robles, Sr., Forsan; Tylor Lorenz, Sr., Colorado City; Jason Rodriguez, Sr., Colorado City; Benny Jones, Sr., Colorado City; Jasper Johnson, Sr., Lubbock Roosevelt; Quade Keith, Sr., Lubbock Roosevelt; Corbin McDonald, Sr., Post; Andres Chavez, Jr., Stanton; Ethan Mauldin, Sr., Stanton

Second Team
Ivan DeLaRosa, Jr., Denver City; Caleb Heinrich, Sr., Slaton; Kazen Thomas, Sr., Slaton; Jacob Echavarria, Sr., Coahoma; Aaron Acevedo, Jr., Coahoma; Bryson Phillips, Sr., Forsan; Bailey Spencer, Sr., Colorado City; Levi Sherrill, Jr., Lubbock Roosevelt; Nathan Jacquez, Sr., Lubbock Roosevelt; Dalton Holley, Jr., Post; K.J. Glaspie, Fresh., Stanton

Honorable Mention
Taylor Soto, Jr., Post.

The copyright for all articles is held by the respective authors and/or The Garza Post. All rights reserved. Any publication, rewriting, or redistribution is prohibited without prior written permission.
blog comments powered by Disqus


Click for more!



Click for more!