Sunday, Dec 2, 2012
Garza County News

Photo by Angeline Collier

The Class of 2012 close the graduation ceremony with the traditional tossing of the caps Friday, June 1 at the Antelope Arena.
(Click the above photo to see additional photos)

As the Tassel Turns...2012 Post Graduation

Paulina Hernandez remembered

Published June 6, 2012 @ 12:14 p.m.

The Antelope Arena was the sight of the Post Independent School District’s commencement ceremony on Friday, June 1. 

Forty-six high school seniors completed thirteen years of public school education by receiving their high school diploma and as is displayed on the evenings program they are now "ready to make tracks". 

Post High School Principal John Berry welcomed the students and quests, approximately 1000, that filled the arena.

In addition to the well composed and presented words of reflection and encouragement from Valedictorian Kari Lanae Dunn and Salutatorian Kambry Pearl Mason, class Historian Shirley Marie Araiza delivered a comprehensive and humorous review of the class members' time together.  All three young ladies are honor students and members of the National Honor Society.

Other honor grads include Madison Nicole Cash, Dakota Joe McDonald, Macie De’Sanne Merritt, Nicole Ramirez and Denisse Guadalupe Rodriguez.

During the evening special attention was directed toward remembering Paulina Hernandez who suddenly passed away May 25, 2011 at the age of 17.  She was a member of the 2012 class.

This year’s Post ISD Memorial Scholarship was given to Amanda Duran in Paulina's memory by Superintendent Mike Comeaux.  

The 2012 class received 80 scholarships from longtime supporters and some new scholastic contributors.  (See complete list following the story.)

After being in business for less than a year, The Garza Post (, gave its first award to Fabian Torres who strives to be a graphic artist.  TGP Partner Cody Collier had the honor of presenting the $500 gift to Torres.

Post Sports Radio owner Jim Plummer presented the businesses’ first scholarship to Parker Loftus who plans on attending a junior college before transferring to a four year institution and is considering becoming a dentist. 

Principal John Berry announced the names of the graduates one by one and as they crossed the stage school board President Mike Holly handed them their diploma.

Skylar Jones opened the event with the invocation and Dakota McDonald gave the benediction prior to the tossing of the graduation caps which ended the groups final gathering together.  

Click here to see the grads on the PHS Class of 2012 page.

Association of TX Professional Educators (2) Dakota McDonald and Skylar Jones
Community Recovery Center Kambry Mason
The Garza Post Fabian Torres
Management & Training Corporation (2) Skylar Jones and Fabian Torres
PHS Class of 1951 Nicole Ramirez
Giles and Louise McCrary Nicole Ramirez
Post Student Council Kari Dunn
Post ISD Memorial Amanda Duran
Post Masonic Lodge Katelyn Elmore
Post Rotary Club (4) Shirley Araiza, Dakota McDonald, 

Fabian Torres and Ferman Rivera
Post Sports Enterprises (Post Sports Radio) Parker Loftus
Post Stampede Rodeo Association (3) Kari Dunn, Skylar Jones and Dakota McDonald
Arnold and Patsy Sanderson Memorial Madison Cash
Maxine Durett Earl Charitable Trust Foundation (2) Nicole Ramirez and Denisse Rodriguez
Tom Butler Memorial Bronc Riding (3) Kari Dunn, Skylar Jones and Dakota McDonald
Post Volunteer Firemen (5) Jordan Aguilar, Amanda Duran, Nicole

Ramirez, D. Rodriguez and Samantha Ortiz
Jimmie Redman Memorial (4) Fabian Torres, Rebecca Fannon, 

Shirley Araiza and Fermin Rivera 
Post Athletic Booster Club Jordan Aguilar, Shirley Araiza, Madison 

Cash, Kari Dunn, Skylar Jones, Parker

Loftus and Corbin McDonald
Close City Community Memorial (3) Kari Dunn, Nicole Ramirez & Jessica Rodriguez
Women's Division of the Chamber Fabian Torres
Jim & Helen Cornish Memorial Library Kari Dunn
GCJLA - Big Country Electric Cooperative Dakota McDonald 
GCJLA - Derrick Dunn Memorial Kari Dunn
Amity Study Club (3) Shirley Araiza, Kambry Mason & D. McDonald
Danny Foster Memorial Kari Dunn
J.E. and Mayme Durrett Memorial Chelsea Nolen
Kraft General Foods Shirley Araiza
Kenneth Montgomery Foundation (2) Corbin McDonald and Cody Pickett
Larry King Haynes II Memorial Shirley Araiza
Lyntegar Electric Kari Dunn
Panhandle Plains Higher Education Authority Corbin McDonald
Post FFA (5) Kyle Copeland, Kari Dunn & Dakota McDonald

Fermin Rivera and Cody Pickett
Syd Conner Memorial (2) Skylar Jones and Dakota McDonald
Outstanding Student-Lion's Club Winners (3) S. Araiza, Madison Cash and Samantha Ortiz
Ray A. Kroc Kari Dunn
South Plains College Salutatorian Kambry Mason
South Plains College Valedictorian Kari Dunn
Texas County Agricultural Agents Association Skylar Jones
Carr Academic - San Angelo State Kari Dunn
United Methodist Higher Education Foundation Skylar Jones
Hardin Simmons University Dean's Amanda Duran
LCU Academic Success Shirley Araiza
LCU Academic Success & Ambassador Kari Dunn
McMurry Academic (3) Corbin McDonald, Sky. Jones & Chelsea Nolen
San Angelo Stock Show & Rodeo Foundation Kari Dunn
Texas Tech University Top 10% Shirley Araiza
West Texas A&M University Discovery Academic Dakota McDonald
State of Texas Highest Ranking Graduate Kari Dunn

Click here to see the grads on the PHS Class of 2012 page.

The copyright for all articles is held by the respective authors and/or The Garza Post. All rights reserved. Any publication, rewriting, or redistribution is prohibited without prior written permission.
blog comments powered by Disqus


Support our sponsors!



Click for more!