Sunday, Dec 2, 2012
Garza County News


Tuesday is Election Day for Primary Runoffs

One countywide voting location

Published July 29, 2012 @ 6:30 a.m.
Updated July 31, 2012 @ 6 a.m.

The runoff election for the 2012 Republican and Democratic Primaries is Tuesday, July 31, 2012. 

The one countywide polling place for Garza County registered voters who did not vote early, is at the Post Community Center, 113 W. Main Street from 7:00 a.m. – 7:00 p.m. on July 31.

The Garza County Clerk's office reports that only 148 voted over the five day early voting period;  143 voted Republican and 5 the Democratic ballot.   

A runoff election has unique rules pertaining to voters.  For instance, if you voted in the regular (first) primary in May, you associated yourself with either the Republican Party or the Democratic Party.  In the runoff, if you choose to vote, you must vote the ballot of the party in which you are associated.

Registered voters who did not vote in the May Primary Election, can vote in the Runoff Election and choose either the Republican ballot or the Democratic ballot.

There are no local countywide or precinct races associated with either parties' ballot. 

The winning candidates from both parties' May primary and the runoff elections will be placed on the November 6, 2012 General Election ballot with other candidates from minor parties and independents.  Depending on whether there is a declared candidate for a contest, there could be a line for a write-in candidate.

The Republican Party ballot has five contests to vote.  The one federal race is for U.S. Senator between Ted Cruz and David Dewhurst.  On the state level Drew Springer and Trent McKnight compete for the State Representative, District 68 nomination; Warren Chisum and Christi Craddick vie for a place on the Railroad Commission; wanting to be the nominee for the unexpired term on the Railroad Commission are Barry Smitherman and Greg Parker; while David Medina and John Devine request your vote to be on the November ballot for a seat on the Texas Supreme Court.

The one race on the Democratic Party ballot is for the U.S Senator nomination.  The candidates are Grady Yarbrough and Paul Sadler.

Voter information, including sample ballots and prior election results can be found on our 2012 Elections Page.

The copyright for all articles is held by the respective authors and/or The Garza Post. All rights reserved. Any publication, rewriting, or redistribution is prohibited without prior written permission.
blog comments powered by Disqus


Click for more!



Click for more!