Sunday, Dec 2, 2012
Garza County News

Photo by Rosa Latimer

Auctioneer Ronnie Thornton (center) received special recognition for his long-time service to the Garza County Junior Livestock Association. Ronnie Metsgar (left) and Milton Williams (right) made the presentation during the Stock Show Sale event.
(Click the above photo to see additional photos)

GCJLA 2012 Stock Show Sale

Published Feb. 1, 2012 @ 2:36 p.m.
Updated Feb. 4, 2012 @ 10:38 a.m.

The commitment of Garza County to its young people will never be more evident than at the Post ISD cafeteria Thursday, January 26.  That evening folks attending the Garza County Junior Livestock Association Stock Show Sale contributed $77,950 to 109 exhibitors in this year’s stock show.    

After the large crowd enjoyed a delicious chicken fried steak supper, the 2012 Seniors:  Kari Dunn, Skylar Jones and Dakota McDonald of Post High School and Trevor Metcalf of Southland High School led in the Pledge of Allegiance.  Then stock show announcer Ronnie Metsgar began the presentation of awards.   After the award presentations, auctioneer Ronnie Thornton conducted the sale.

Paden Babb was named Top Hand and Seth Babb was presented the All Around Sportsmanship award sponsored by Cap Rock Telephone Company, Inc.  The Top Hand award was sponsored by Ronnie & Tricia Metsgar on behalf of the Scott Metsgar Memorial.   

Susan Boren, Garza-Lynn County Farm Bureau, presented the Senior Showmanship - Steers Award to Skylar Jones, Garza County 4-H; Senior Showmanship - Swine Award to Katie Dunn, Post FFA and Senior Showmanship – Lambs Award to Matti Smith, Post FFA.

Grand Champion winners were:  Pake Jones,Garza County 4-H, Steers; Callie Odom,Post FFA, Swine; Raeden Bland, Garza County 4-H, Lambs; Taylor Osborn, Post FFA, Goats.  Reserve Champions were:  Pake Jones, Garza County 4-H, Steers; Dakota McDonald, Garza County 4-H, Swine; Taylor Osborn, Post FFA, Goats; Maegen Bland, Garza County 4-H, Lambs. 

Breed Champions were:  Colton Thompson, Garza County 4-H, Steers; Alexus Rodriguez, Post FFA, Swine; Matti Smith, Post FFA, Lambs; Katie Dunn, Post FFA, Swine; Audree Williams, Garza County 4-H, Swine; Victoria Huckaby, Southland FFA, Lambs.  Reserve Breed Swine winners were:  Audree Williams, Garza County 4-H; Jaden Binford, Southland FFA; Kari Dunn, Post FFA; Alexis Zarate, Southland FFA and Callie Odom, Post FFA.   Winners of Reserve Breed Steers were Skylar Jones, Garza County 4-H and Emma Thompson, Garza County 4-H.  Matti Smith, Post FFA earned Reserve Breed – Lambs. Reserve Division – Goats winners were Haley Krauser, Garza County 4-H and Kortnee McKee, Post FFA.

(See photos from the show by clicking here.)

(Click here to see the story "48th Annual GCJLA Stock Show Has Successful Run".)

Auctioneer Ronnie Thornton received a special award for his long-time participation in the annual GCJLA event.  Corresponding Secretary Janeece Williams was recognized for her hard work on the show.

Senior showmanship buckle donors were:  Garza-Lynn County Farm Bureau, Grassland Co-Op Gin and Garza County Sheriff Cliff Laws.  Junior showmanship buckle donors were:  Citizens Bank of Post, Garza County Commissioner Gary McDaniel and D & D Well Service.

Award donors for rabbits were:  Grand Champion (Market), Post Tire & Lube and West Texas Testers; Grand Champion (Fancy), Thompson & Thompson; Reserve Grand Champion plaques Market and Fancy, Garza County Sheriff Cliff Laws.  Swine award donors were:  Grand Champion, Crown Unlimited; Reserve Grand Champion: Delton, Dusti, Brian, Blaine & Bandy Osborn.  Steer award donors were:  Grand Champion, Big country Electric Cooperative, Inc. and Reserve Grand Champion, Garza County Commissioner Gary McDaniel.  Lamb award donors were:  Grand Champion, Dickens Electric Cooperative, Inc. and Reserve Grand Champion, Garza Abstract.  Goat award donors were:  Grand Champion, Milton & Billie Williams; Keith, Roxanne & Taylor Osborn and Reserve Grand Champion, Kenny & Carla Reiter. 

Officers of the Garza County Junior Livestock Association are:  Milton Williams, President; Keith Williams, Vice President; Chad Huckaby, Recording Secretary; Janeece Williams, Corresponding Secretary.  Advisors are:  Greg Jones and Nancy McDonald, Garza County AgriLife Extension; Perry Smith and Lance Dunn, Post FFA and Nick McCollister, Southland FFA.

Stock show superintendents were:  Ronnie Dunn and Nancy Morris, swine; Milton Williams, steers; Rusty Morris, lambs and goats; Robby and Barbara Palmer, rabbits.

The copyright for all articles is held by the respective authors and/or The Garza Post. All rights reserved. Any publication, rewriting, or redistribution is prohibited without prior written permission.
blog comments powered by Disqus


Click for more!



Click for more!