Sunday, Dec 2, 2012
Garza County News

Photo by Nancy McDonald

4-H members participating at the 2012 Recognition Brunch and receiving awards were back row: Latham Huckaby, Colton Thompson, Ethan Self, Tori Huckaby, Audree Williams, Leslie Gill and Dalton Stokes. Front row: Kasen Wink, Emma Thompson, Kolton Wink, and Addee Williams.
(Click the above photo to see additional photos)

Nobody Sits on the Bench

Published Aug. 30, 2012 @ 6 a.m.

The accomplishments of Garza County 4-H members, leaders, and supporters were highlighted at the 2012 4-H Achievement Brunch held August 25, 2012 at the Heritage House.  Individuals and organizations participating in and supporting various 4-H activities throughout the 2011-2012 year were recognized.

4-H members conducting the program and receiving recognition were club president, Audree Williams, along with Emma Thompson, Colton Thompson, Dalton Stokes, Kolton Wink, Tori Huckaby, Leslie Gill, Ethan Self and Latham Huckaby.

Addee Williams and Kasen Wink received Clover Kid certificates, buttons, activity books and bubbles. 

Pake Jones, son of Channa and Greg Jones, was recognized as the Gold Star Award recipient which is the top county award.  It is presented to a 4-H member who shows integrity, leadership and citizenship skills, and is active in project work and activities. 

The Outstanding Adult Leader honor went to Paige Huckaby for her hard work and dedication to numerous 4-H projects.  She has spent countless hours helping with fund raisers, animal projects, and promotional and planning events. 

The “Friend of 4-H” award was presented to Citizens Bank of Post and Keith Williams.  Citizens Bank has been a supportive of 4-H and the Texas A & M AgriLife Extension Service in Garza County for many years.  Keith and his family have long been involved with 4-H.  They are strong advocates for youth and the impact they have on our community through 4-H.

4-H Leaders were recognized for their tireless efforts in support of 4-H.  Those receiving recognition were Janeece Williams, Glenna Reiter, Kim Reiter, Cheryl Gill, Danya Peterson, Lance Dunn, Mark Kirkpatrick, Ray Mason, Marci Oden.  Marci is also the Garza County 4-H Club Leader.

Others attending include Buddy and Mandi Thompson, Kerry and Kristi Wink, Chad Huckaby, Reed Williams, Madelyn Melchiors, Nancy McDonald and Greg Jones.

The copyright for all articles is held by the respective authors and/or The Garza Post. All rights reserved. Any publication, rewriting, or redistribution is prohibited without prior written permission.
blog comments powered by Disqus


Click for more!



Click for more!